Keep enjoying your freedom

Colour codes by country

Here you find more information about the colour codes by region or by country. You can read more about the measures that apply to travelling to and from Belgium here.

For an overview of the European travel situation, please consult the map of the European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC) (which is updated every Wednesday).

⚠️ ATTENTION ⚠️: This map is published for information only, the official national updates for Belgium take place on Saturday. This ECDC map cannot be invoked as a legal reason for not complying with the Belgian rules.

Therefore, the colour codes published on this page are the only ones taken into account for risk assessment (e.g. used for the Passenger Locator Form).

Colour codes

Each country is given a colour code. The measures applicable to travel to Belgium depend on the colour code assigned to the country in question.

  • Red colour code: regions or countries where individuals are at a high risk of infection.
  • Orange colour code: regions or countries for which a moderately elevated risk of infection has been identified.
  • Green colour code: regions or countries for which a low risk of infection has been identified.

For countries in the EU and the Schengen Area

  • This list is updated every Friday and is valid from the Saturday immediately following. It is based on the data and criteria communicated by the European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC) every Thursday.
  • Has the colour code changed to red ? The colour code is valid as from Saturday as well.
  • All EU and Schengen Area countries have a green colour code, with the exception of:
Country/region Orange Red
Andorra Andorra /
Austria Burgenland, Tyrol, Voralberg Lower Austria, Vienna, Upper Austria, Salzburg, Carinthia, Styria
Bulgary / Severozapaden/North West, Severen tsentralen/North Central, Severoiztochen/North East, Yugoiztochen/South East, Yugozapaden/South West, Yuzhen tsentralen/South Central
Croatia / Pannonian Croatia, Adriatic Croatia, City of Zagreb, Grad Zagreb, North Croatia, Medimurska zupanija
Cyprus Cyprus /
Denmark Capital Region of Denmark, Zealand, Southern Denmark, Greenland Faroer
Estonia / Estonia
Finland Åland South Finland, West Finland, Nort and East Finland, Helsinki-Uusimaa
France Hauts-de-France, Pays de la Loire, Languedoc-Roussillon, Midi-Pyrénées, Auvergne, Rhône-Alpes, Île de France, Corse, Mayotte, Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur, Guadeloupe, Polynésie française Martinique, Guyane, Saint-Martin, Nouvelle Calédonie, Saint-Barthélemy
Germany Schleswig-Holstein Stuttgart, Karlsruhe, Freiburg, Tübingen, Oberbayern, Niederbayern, Oberpfalz, Oberfranken, Mittelfranken, Unterfranken, Schwaben, Berlin, Brandenburg, Bremen, Hamburg, Darmstadt, Gießen, Kassel, Braunschweig, Hanover, Lüneburg, Weser-Ems, Düsseldorf, Köln, Münster, Detmold, Arnsberg, Koblenz, Trier, Rheinhessen-Pfalz, Saarland, Dresden, Chemnitz, Leipzig, Thüringen, Sachsen-Anhalt, Mecklenburg-Vorpommern
Greece Attica, Crete, Epirus, South Aegean, Western Greece Eastern Macedonia, Thrace, Central Macedonia, Western Macedonia, Thessaly, Ionian Islands, Peloponnese, Central Greece
Hungary Central Transdanubia, Western Transdanubia, Southern Transdanubia Budapest, Pest, Northern Hungary, Northern Great Plain, Southern Great Plain
Iceland / Iceland
Ireland / Northern and Western, Southern, Eastern and Midland
Italy Autonomous Province of Bolzano, Veneto, Emilia-Romagna, Campania, Lazio, Sicily, Calabria, Aosta Valley, Basilicata Toscana, Marche
Latvia / Latvia
Lithuania / Vilnius County, Cultural regions of Lithuania
Luxembourg / Luxembourg
Monaco Monaco /
Netherlands Groningen, Drenthe, Overijssel, Gelderland, Utrecht, North Holland, Zeeland, North Brabant, Flevoland, South Holland, Friesland, Sint Eustatius, Aruba Curação, Sint Maarten, Bonaire, Limburg
Norway Innlandet, Adger and South Eastern Norway, Western Norway Oslo and Viken, Trøndelag, Northern Norway
Poland West Pomeranian Voivodeship, Warmian-Masurian Voivodeship, Mazovian Voivodeship Lublin Voivodeship, Podlaskie Voivodeship
Portugal North, Alto Minho, Cávado, Ave, Área Metropolitana do Porto, Alto Tâmega, Tâmega e Sousa, Douro, Terras de Trás-os-Montes, Algarve, Algarve, Center (PT), Oeste, Região de Aveiro, Região de Coimbra, Região de Leiria, Viseu Dão Lafões, Beira Baixa, Médio Tejo, Beiras e Serra da Estrela, Lisbon Metropolitan Area, Lisbon Metropolitan Area, Alentejo, Alentejo Litoral, Baixo Alentejo, Lezíria do Tejo, Alto Alentejo, Alentejo Central, Autonomous Region of the Azores /
Romania / North West, Centre, North East, South East, South Muntenia, Bucuresti – Ilfov, South-West Oltenia, West
San Marino San Marino /
Slovakia / Eastern Slovakia, Bratislava Region, Central Slovakia, Western Slovakia
Slovenia / Eastern Slovenia, Western Slovenia
Spain Comunidad de Madrid, Catalonia, Baleares, Cantabria, Basque Country, Aragon, Melilla Castilla-La Mancha
Sweden Stockholm, East Middle Sweden, Småland and the islands , South Sweden, West Sweden, North Middle Sweden, Upper Norrland /
Switzerland Lake Genova Region, Vaud, Valais, Genève, Espace Mittelland, Bern, Freiburg, Solothurn, Neuchâtel, Jura, Northwestern Switzerland, Basel-Stadt, Basel-Landschaft, Aargau, Ticino, Zürich Eastern Switzerland, Glarus, Schaffhausen, Appenzell Ausserrhoden, Appenzell Innerrhoden, St. Gallen, Graubünden, Thurgau, Central Switzerland, Luzern, Uri, Schwyz, Obwalden, Nidwalden, Zug
Czech Republic Prague, Moravian-Silesian, Central Bohemia, Southwest, Nortwest, Northeast, Southeast, Central Moravia /
Vatican City Vatican City /

As of Saturday 16th of Octobre 2021 , the following regions will have a red colour code:

  • Greece: Central Greece
  • Finland: West Finland, Helsinki-Uusimaa, South Finland, North and East Finland
  • Hungary: Northern Great Plain, Southern Great Plain
  • Luxembourg: Luxembourg
  • Netherlands: Limburg
  • Norway: Trøndelag, Northern Norway

For third countries (= non-EU countries)

  • All countries listed in Annex 1 of the EU Council Recommendation on the temporary restriction of non-essential travel to the EU and its possible lifting are given a colour code (You can find more information on this Recommendation here). This list is updated every two weeks by the Council of the EU. Colour code green, orange or red is assigned by analogy with the criteria used by ECDC for the EU/Schengen countries. Currently, the following countries are on the white list:

    • Australia: orange
    • Bahrain: orange
    • Canada: orange
    • Chile: green
    • Hongkong Special Administrative Region: green
    • Jordan: orange
    • Kuwait: green
    • Macau Special Administrative Region: green
    • New Zealand: green
    • Qatar: green
    • Rwanda: green
    • Saudi Arabia: green
    • Singapore: red
    • South Korea: orange
    • Taiwan as entity and territorial authority that is not recognised as state by at least one member state: green
    • Ukraine: red
    • United Arab Emirates: green
    • Uruguay: green
  • Travellers from Singapore, Ukraine: important information

  • China is on the white list, subject to reciprocity. It is currently considered as a country outside the European Union or Schengen area, with colour code red .

  • All other third countries, that aren't on the white list here above, are to be given a red colour .

Please note that in addition to the colour code red, third countries may also be classified as “very high risk countries”, to which additional stricter measures apply.

More information about the travel restrictions and related measures: